Newman Award

The Award

The Home Mission Board began its ministry of in-service guidance in 1959 when Lewis W. Newman became secretary of Rural-Urban Missions.  Under his leadership at the University of Corpus Christi and at the Home Mission Board, in-service guidance became a reality.

The In-Service Guidance group considered and approved The Lewis W. Newman Award at the annual meeting in 1986.  A standing committee was formed and criteria were written and adopted. The first Newman Award was presented to Doran McCarty in 1988.

The AWARD is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions according to but not limited by any or all of the following criteria:

  • Directing a superior program on a local campus
  • Consultation with individual schools or with the denomination
  • Leading supervisor training workshops
  • Books written
  • Articles published
  • Papers presented
  • Professional offices held
  • Money raised
  • Programs implemented
  • Development of new theories or demonstration of the relevance of supervised ministry to existing theory.

2020 Awardees: Mike Fuhrman and Kenneth Gore

See the previous recipients here